What are the differences between types of cryptocurrencies?

1. Bitcoin: The oldest and most established cryptocurrency, Bitcoin was created as an open-source peer-to-peer digital currency in 2009. It is based on blockchain technology, with users transacting directly without an intermediary. Bitcoin supports fast, secure and anonymous transactions, with low transaction fees.

2. Altcoins: Alternate coins or “altcoins” are any other cryptocurrency that is not Bitcoin. These include Ethereum, Litecoin, XRP, Monero and many more. Each altcoin has its own unique features, such as different levels of blockchain security, different consensus algorithms, and various transaction speeds.

3. Security Tokens: Security tokens are a type of cryptocurrency that enables ownership of a digital asset, often a company stock or commodity. These tokens are used as a form of digital payments to facilitate trading and settlement of assets on the blockchain.

4. Utility Tokens: Utility tokens are a type of cryptocurrency used to access goods and services on an exchange. These tokens can often be exchanged for discounted goods and services, or even given away in promotional campaigns. Utility tokens can also be used to pay for certain types of transactions on the blockchain.